Skip to content

Keeping the Peace

December 23, 2013

My sister has been really excited about how helpful some supplements have  been to her and some of her friends. Karen is convinced they will help Dad. I talked to Dad’s gerontologist about these products. He was familiar with the line and said he saw no value to Dad for what would be a very expensive regime of supplements.

It was very difficult to tell Karen that I was not going to provide something to Dad that she very much believes in. I explained to Karen that Dad’s doctor had said no. I explained that since Dad is receiving Hospice services we are only providing comfort care, not things that will cure any conditions.

I tried to be gentle in my message, but I knew what Karen was hearing was that I was dismissing her opinion.

It’s hard when my effort to do what I think is best for Dad means that I’m losing them both.

No comments yet

Please leave your thoughts or ideas!

