Skip to content

I’ll Remember

February 27, 2023

Mom was doing my laundry. I’m a grown adult and my mom was doing my laundry. This wasn’t the first time this week. She often does my laundry. She regularly does the kids laundry too. When my 12 year old asked why, Mom simply explained that she helps whenever she can.

We were at an estate sale. Some big college kids were straining to get a washer up the stairs. When one of their feet slipped, Mom ran over. My seventy year old mother moved quicker than light to save the strong college kids. As we pulled away, they struggled to fit their new washing machine into a tiny car. “Would that fit in your van?” she asked.

That is the mom I have. The one I will remember. The one who pushes me to be better. She just helps because she can. That is who I hope to become. This is who I hope my kids remember when other pieces fade away.

No comments yet

Please leave your thoughts or ideas!