Skip to content

It Doesn’t Really Matter

October 16, 2011

Dad and I were picking out new glasses.  As usual, we each had a book to keep us company.  Dad had been reading a book about the Civil War and it was sitting on the counter in front of him.

One of the staff came over to chat with us while we were waiting and asked Dad if he was a Civil War buff.   Dad’s responded by saying “I was in that war.”

I reminded him that he was in World War II and that he served in the Pacific.  He was very irritated with me that I had corrected him and told me he had been in both wars.

As the employee left us she gently put her hand on my shoulder and said “It doesn’t really matter.”

It was such a simple little thing.  Such an important reminder and a special connection.

Thank you for taking the time!

No comments yet

Please leave your thoughts or ideas!